The Visit

sick-girlNo need for alarm, but I am currently recovering from a minor setback that pretty much left me bedbound for 7 days. I literally didn’t step outside my house for a full 7 days and although I’ve been cleared to resume life as usual, I’m still not feeling like myself. I spent those sick days in and out of consciousness sitting upright in an elaborate recovery camp I set up for myself in my living room. The essentials of my camp included pills- lots of them (prescribed of course), my iPhone, a bottle of water, a myriad of fashion and beauty magazines, and the remote control. As the days passed I got through all 5 seasons of Breaking Bad and the full season of Orange is the New Black. It just occurred to me that both of those shows are jail themed. That’s fitting actually. Anyway, lying around all day living on a steady diet of water, pills and soft foods like smoothies and Trader Joe’s Belgian chocolate pudding wasn’t so bad. Looking back now, with the prospect of going back to work tomorrow, I have to say it was fun! My inner 14-year-old was all over it…

Perks of my condition included:

  • A loving 24-hour caregiver by my side carefully policing, I mean monitoring, my every move.
  • A regular stream of visits from all of my favorite people.
  • Fresh flowers!! They really do help in these situations…
  • Lots of phone calls and texts from friends.
  • Mom visited me a lot and even made me arroz con leche!
  • I got to play on iTunes without any time restrictions. I love this right now. You may not recognize it, but its a Smashing Pumpkins cover…

So the other night, several days into my recovery, around 4 am- I woke up from an uncomfortable sleep. When I opened my eyes, there was an angel standing in the corner of my bedroom. She/He was HUGE and was sort of like a golden outline of light- wings and all- as big as the room. She was only there for a second and then vanished. I knew it was an angel and I wasn’t afraid. Do I sound a little koo koo? Bare with me… or blame the drugs…

arch angel heart Now I realize I had been on a regular dose of Percocet and sugar for days at this point, but I swear I saw her in that instant and then she was gone in the same blink, but I promise it was not a dream. I was definitely awake and soberish…

Back in April of this year, I saw a psychic, a woman who knew nothing about me. The reading was a gift for my birthday from a dear friend. The psychic told me that Archangel Gabriel is my guardian angel. Gabriel is female, FYI. She also told me that my “guides” were telling her I was a writer. I was amazed as I had told her I was in sales and never mentioned my education or writing aspirations. She said, “You must write.” I already knew this, but its like Hemingway said, “There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed”. Anyway, the whole Gabriel thing totally made sense to me. Doreen Virtue, a spiritual psychologist who works with angels claims, “Archangel Gabriel inspires and motivates artists and communicators, helping them to overcome fear and procrastination.” Interesting connection there, right?

So as you can imagine, after my angelic visitation, I really couldn’t sleep. I grabbed my iPhone and googled “gold angel”. Guess who the gold angel is??? Archangel Gabriel!!

archangel-gabriel

Doreen Virtue reports that Archangel Gabriel is the angel of communication and helps with:

▪ Adopting a child

▪ Artists and art-related projects

▪ Child conception and fertility

▪ Journalism and writing

Here’s the part that gets crazy. Well, crazier. Earlier that day, my best friend invited me to an adoption service/ceremony for her daughter, who she and her husband have been fostering and trying to adopt for years. This has been a LONG road for them and finally having a date to finalize custody was cause for celebration, even in my sedated state. In addition, recently, I too have been imagining a baby of my own- one with two legs rather than four. Lastly, I am in the final stretch of a master’s degree in the field of Communication from the school of journalism at USC. Given what I’ve learned about Gabriel, for her to make a cameo appearance in my bedroom at 4 am, even just for a blinking instant, was no mistake. I am grateful for the divine connection.

Invocation from Doreen Virtue:

Before beginning any artistic or communication project, ask Gabriel to guide and oversee your activities by saying aloud or mentally:

“Archangel Gabriel, I ask for your presence as I [describe the project]. Please open my creative channels so that I may be truly inspired. Help me open my mind so that I may give birth to unique ideas. And please help me sustain the energy and motivation to follow through on this inspiration. Thank you, Gabriel.”

Pretty sure I’ll be invoking her daily.

If you would like more information on the Angel realm or are curious about a reading, check out Marybeth Murphy. She is based in Orange County, CA. I loved her.

You can also look up expert and author Doreen Virtue.

One thought on “The Visit

Leave a Reply

