Stroke Of Luck?

Last week I received this email:

Dear EV Applicant,

Thank you for applying for the 2012 Fellowship.  We regret we are unable to offer you a place in the 2012 Fellowship.

There were an overwhelming number of applicants and unfortunately, a very limited number of spots available for fellows.  We wish you the best of luck in the future.

Thank you,

Libby Flores, Program Manager

So that happened.
Rejection stings even when you expect it and even when you know you are better off in the long run.  Still, my ego goes into defensive mode over how they could pass over my genius!  And I can’t help but wonder, did Libs over there even read my material? I mean she couldn’t even be bothered with using my name in the generic mass email she sent out!  Excuse me while I go and rock myself in the corner for a few minutes.
Ok, I’m back.  It is actually easy for me to channel my homie the Dalai Lama and remember that sometimes, not getting what you want is a wonderful stroke of luck.  Life has taught me that lesson many times, believe me.  Right now this graduate program takes up most of my time. If I were to be completely honest, its a good thing I was not accepted because I would have probably been a flakey fellow and a flakey student, which is not doing myself or either program service.  In addition, schoolwork takes up about 90% of my free time, leaving 10% to be divided between me-time, family, friends, and fun.  Being accepted would have really squeezed me…
** I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize to my loved ones for my absence.  I promise I’ll see you after Dec. 5th!
It sucks, but this is what I’m doing right now, and even though I feel like this:

I know that nothing worth doing is easy, good things happen in their own time and in the words of Nelson Mandela, “it always seems impossible until it’s done.”  When I finish grad school in two years, maybe I will apply for the fellowship again.  By then my writing should have significantly improved and I’ll be better prepared in more ways than one.  For now I’m still proud of myself for putting it out there.  Getting turned down wasn’t so bad! Plus it solidifies my place as a struggling artist, putting me in some really great company.  Yay.

Despite my current circumstances, I have managed to fit in a little fun this month.  The Hollywood Bowl is one of my favorite music venues and I heart Florence and the Machine, so when my friend and fellow artist sent me a text the day before the concert asking me if I wanted to go, I blew off my school work and said hell yes!  What can I say? Old habits die hard.  It was awesome.  Florence Welch is beyond beautiful…

The music of Florence and the Machine has an ethereal quality to it, a sort of bravery that pulses through to the audience. Her songs are like a shot of courage and I believe this is why I find her music so healing.  Her band rocked it.  Songs were performed from both albums, Lungs and Ceremonials.  There were no costume changes, just her gorgeous art deco style dress that looked stunning on her.  She dazzled the crowd with her sprinting and spinning, her bright red hair dancing right along with her.  She was like poetry and that night, the entire Hollywood Bowl was under her spell.  At the end of the show I was left clutching my heart feeling high and valiant.  My friend and I both had tears in our eyes.  She said it best when she turned to me and said,  “That was epic.”

For you culture vultures, I have a VERY worthy recommendation.  Seminar is a hilarious and inspiring play showing now at the Ahmanson.  I have two friends (not related) who went to New York just to see this play earlier this year.  Luckily, it’s on tour now and is visiting LA until November 18th.  The play is about four young writers taking a seminar with a master writer who is actually a douche bag professor type, brilliantly played by Jeff Goldblum.  I can’t say enough good things about this show.  I love love loved it!  But then again, I’m a writer, and every writer will love this play.  But don’t get me wrong, it’s not just for writers! Everyone can appreciate the funny twists the story takes and relate to the struggles of finding affordable housing in New York, dealing with unemployment, facing fears, vulnerability, love, loneliness, mentorship, finding your self and following your dreams.  If you are in LA, go see this play.  Find discount tickets at Goldstar. You will love it.  Trust.

Ok, back to my mid-terms…  xo Dre

2 thoughts on “Stroke Of Luck?

  1. Hey Dre! I’ve been listening to Florence and the Machine this morning and looking to get tickets to Seminar. I feel like you’re my personal social director. 🙂 Thanks! Love reading your blog!!!…Cornell

Leave a Reply

