Top 15 Diva Break-up Songs

It’s hard to define a good break-up anthem.  It has to be catchy and inspiring; offer comfort in the face of pain; give hope, and strength and some shred of dignity so you can forget that drunk text you sent but never got a response from…  Most importantly a good break-up anthem assures that you are ok, and better days are still ahead!

Today while at the car wash on the corner of Santa Monica and Gower, I was browsing through the June/July issue of Metrosource LA, The Pride Issue.  It’s a GLBT mag, but cool to read just the same.  The Slice of Life column listed Top 15 Diva Break-Up Anthems.  I scanned the songs listed and although I knew most of them from artists such as Cher, Kelly Clarkson, and even Britney Spears, I was disappointed that I didn’t own any of them, which is saying a lot since I have a gargantuan iTunes collection.

It occurred to me that although I have more than one playlist dedicated to recovery from heartbreak, sad songs, and solitude, I don’t really listen to anthems… My favorite break-up songs are a little less disco and a little more weepy.  Before you wonder what the hell I’m so sad about, I should mention I listen to these song even when I’m not sad.  I’m just emo that way!

Anyway, with the exception of songs No. 3 Alanis Morissette- You Oughta Know, No. 12 Pink- So What?,  and No. 13 Gloria Gaynor I Will Survive, I don’t know if I have any official anthems.  Whatever the case, now that I have blog, I can make my own list!  Inspired by the Slice of Life column, here is my list of my Top 15 Diva Break-up Song, with an anthem or two in the mix…

1. Adele- Rolling in the Deep  Of course I picked her first… “The scars of your love remind me of us, I can’t help thinking that we almost had it all…”  Definitely an anthem.

 2. Leona Lewis- Happy  
 3.  Diana Krall- A Case of You
 4. Sinead O’Connor Nothing Compares to you  I actually really love the original duet by Prince with Rosie Gains, but since this is a list of songs by divas, I chose this one from 1990.  She still makes me wish I was pretty enough to shave my head and look like her when I cry…

5. Robyn- Dancing On My Own The first time I heard this song I was in West Hollywood at Hamburger Mary’s.  There was a drag queen on stage with this rocking body.  She had on a hot short black sequence dress and did an amazing lip sync and dance routine to this song.  She used the pole and everything!

I realize it’s a strange visual but it was awesome.  I busted out my iPhone, shazamed the song and have loved it ever since.  Plus I’m pretty sure this definitely counts as an anthem!

6. Katy Perry- Part of Me  She clearly wrote this about Russell Brand.  Nuff said.

7. Lady Antebellum- Need You Now  I don’t even like country and this song made the list. The famous drunk dial makes an appearance in this one too.  Ladies, may I suggest a book? There’s a whole chapter on the drunk dial.  Makes a great gift too… “I wonder if I ever cross your mind.  For me it happens all the time…”

8. Pink- Who Knew?

9. Fiona Apple- Love Ridden  

10. Rihanna- Take a Bow

11. Alicia Keys- Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart  Um, the whole album.  2010, sigh.

12. Christina Perry- Jar of Hearts  Great song, with plenty of emo factor and I especially love the video with dope choreography from So You Think You Can Dance

13. Tegan and Sara- I know, I know, I know 

14. Jessie J- Nobody’s Perfect

 15.  Kate Nash- The Nicest Thing

3 thoughts on “Top 15 Diva Break-up Songs

  1. Pingback: Stilettos and broken bottles… | projectdrela

Leave a Reply

