Golden Globes 2012

Did you watch the Golden Globes awards? If you missed it, don’t worry! I’ll give you the highlights: Meryl Streep won best actress in a film drama for her portrayal of Margaret Thatcher in “Iron Lady“. George Clooney won the best dramatic actor award for his role in “The Descendents”. Michelle Williams won in the category of best actress in a comedy or musical for her portrayal of Marilyn Monroe in “My Week With Marilyn“. Woody Allen won the award for best screen play for his film “Midnight in Paris” (one of my favorite movies from 2011). Christopher Plummer won best supporting actor for “Beginners”. Yay! Octavia Spencer won Best supporting actress for “The Help“. Steven Spielberg won best animated film for “The Adventures of Tintin”. After The Artist and The Descendants were big winners at the Golden Globes, they are now considered front-runners for the Oscar. The 84th Academy Awards will air Sunday February 26th. Mark your calendars!

I confess I love to watch the Golden Globes and most any award show for that matter because for years now, the award season has been sort of like my Super Bowl. I cant wait to watch Hollywood’s brightest stars strut down the red carpet in their black label, couture, or trendy ensembles and announce to the world what we can expect to see in stores and in style this season.

This year at the Golden Globes the overwhelming trend was monochromatic subdued colored gowns in various shimmering tones of silver, gold, nude and beige, or monochromatic gowns in rich jewel tones like deep blues, purples, and greens. Navy blue is still the new black and is a trend we can expect to see through summer and probably fall. I adore it. Sleeves are back: three-quarter sleeves, capped sleeves and long sleeves were seen on many of the red carpet gowns, a throw back to another era. Art Deco inspired gowns, jewelry and accessories are really hot right now, now doubt thanks to movies like The Artist and My Week With Marilyn. Other trends I noticed- deep V-necklines; loose long hair worn sleek straight or in loose curls; short manicured nails in a dark polish; nude or flesh colored lipstick; 1950’s red lipstick; headbands.

These were my favorite looks from the night. Thanks to Getty Images for the wonderful shots!:

Sofia Vegara in Vera Wang

Stunning… and Colombian!

Nicole Richie in Julien McDonald.

Loved the bangs and jewelry too.

Diane Lane in Reen Arca

She totally pulled off this vintage Hollywood look. (Note the dark polish too!) Try OPI in Lincoln Park After Dark or Chanel’s classic nail polish in Vamp at your next mani/pedi…

Bernice Bejo in Gucci

The rich bold color of the gown and the blue jeweled clutch is a winner!

Katherine McPhee in Donna Karan

Elegant and lovely, she pulls off the gold/nude monochromatic trend beautifully. I adore this dress- the color, the soft layers, the tea length style front with the longer back… The whole look is fabulous- with the shoes, the clutch, the make-up and hair, I love all of it! This was one of my favorite looks of the night. Note the dark polish again too.

Nicole Kidman in Versace

I think this dress is amazing on her. I love the silver and gold combination on the gown; the beads give it a beautiful art deco structure. Her smooth long hair and simple jewelry compliment this gorgeous art deco inspired look perfectly.

Sarah Michelle Gellar in Monique Lhuillier

I loved this navy and white dyed gown. It was a nice break from all the beige tones and monochromatic dresses so popular on the red carpet. Her navy blue smokey eye make-up and sleek long pony tail compliment the youthful fresh appeal of the dress. Loved it!

Kate Winslet in Jenny Packham

Absolutely fabulous! The art deco inspired dress and jewelry are classic Hollywood glamour. The dress shows off her beautiful curves, making this another one of my very favorite looks from the night. Plus, everyone knows I love love love Kate!

Ewan McGregor

Selma Hyek in Gucci

Gorgeous. I love this art deco inspired gown and jeweled box clutch. It was a good night for Gucci…

Madeline Stowe

Gorgeous in this elegant jewel toned purple gown.

Clair Danes in J. Mendel

Jessica Alba in Gucci

Another winner from Gucci, this mauve gown is still in step with the color trend, but is a nice departure from the beige….

Emma Stone in Lanvin

Fabulous art deco jeweled belt, gorgeous two tone color and sexy plunging deep V-neckline… I love her.

Reese Witherspoon

Melissa McCarthy in Badgley Mischka

George Clooney and Stacy Keibler

Julie Bowen

Gorgeous nude gown with just a hint of sparkle on the capped sleeve. I love the flow and movement of this dress.

Charlize Theron in Dior

I love this dress and the pale pink is lovely on her…

Among all the hits, there were some misses. These ladies are on my Miss List…

Lea Michelle in Marchesa

This dress looks more like an ice dancing costume. Just saying…

Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace

The dress is a gorgeous art deco inspired gown that fits her like a glove, but she looks a little like the matriarch of a Vampire family or something… and I think she’s hungry. Girlfriend needs a tan and a cheese burger. Just saying…

Elle McPherson

She looks like a runaway wedding cake topper…

Kristen Wiig in Bill Blass

The nude dress and make-up totally wash her out, and despite the plunging neck line, I find the whole look pretty boring…

Kelly Osborne in Zen Posner

Sorry Kelly, but the odd silvery blue hair and stiff looking gown are a little too sci-fi…

Ariel Winter in Dolce & Gabana

It’s like they made her dress out of the upholstery from a pimp’s couch or something…

Tina Fey in Oscar de la Renta

Another jewel colored dress in magenta, which is a great color on her, but this particular dress makes her look like she’s wearing a muppet. Just saying…

Emily Deschanel

Um…. its missing a sleeve…

Dianna Agron in Giles Deacon

This dress is more Chinese New Year than Golden Globes… or maybe she’s going ice dancing with Lea Michelle later… who knows?

Jessica Beil

I actually love the bottom half of this dress. The delicate lace looks exquisite and the high split up the front is super sexy, but the top looks like she got attacked by grandma’s chiffon curtains and some of her doilies jumped her too… The color and nude make-up do nothing for her…

See more looks from the red carpet here

Who rocked your favorite look?

***all photos from Getty Images

4 thoughts on “Golden Globes 2012

  1. I totally missed this show! I love the award shows mainly for the red carpet. 🙂 I must say, although I love these 2 actresses, Sarah Michelle Gellar’s tie dye dress is not my favorite and I really hate Jessica Biel’s grandma’s curtains. All Jessica needed was a huge horrid black coat and she could be mistaken for one of the Olsen sisters. 😉
    Love the re-cap!! Thanks Dre!! Xo

  2. I usually don’t watch the GGs, but because I have missed a lot of movies this year, I thought I’d tune in from time to time just to see who was up for the awards. I do like to watch the Oscar’s. So, to prepare myself for them, I thought I would use the GGs as a gauge for what movies I should get around to watching before the Academy Awards roll around. I like to make predictions/bets – I’m I’m usually pretty good, if I don’t say so, myself/ :o)

    I was glad to see that 2 of the movies I watched, were actually nominated and so well-received. I can vouch for The Artist & The Descendents. Good stuff. I gotta say though, I was a bit let down by some of the other nominees. Overall, I think it was a down year for movies in ’11.

    Anyway, I can’t contribute much else to this topic because I have no fashion sense…butt, I will say about Jessica Biel: I looooooove her bottom too. :-p

    • word. I loved The Artist and The Descendants. I’ll bet the book was amazing… oh well, too late to read it since i already saw the movie… I saw Young Adults- it was great; would be a fabulous renter. My Week With Marilyn was good too. Still in theaters… 3 of my favorite movies from 2011 are nominated Beginners (awesome, trust! and totally LA!); Midnight in Paris (every writer must see this); 50/50 super funny and smart and deep! so make sure you see those!! keep me posted on what you see and what you think. I’m quite sure you’ll love the ones i suggested 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

